Connect with us


2013 U-17 World Cup: Nigerian Golden Eaglets Lift Nation to Glory!


photo credit:

The Golden Eaglets are world champions again. The team The Eaglets won the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup hosted by the United Arab Emirates (UAE), etching their names in the annals of Nigerian football as four times winner of the FIFA U-17 championship following previous wins in 1985, 1993 and 2007.

The Eaglets defeated Mexico in the finals 3 goals to nil to make it their seventh finals appearance since the competition started in 1985, making it the most successful nation in the tournament’s history with three runner-up positioning. The Golden Eaglets’ 26 goals also broke the record of 24 goals held by Germany for most goals scored in a single tournament in 2011 when Mexico hosted the tourney.

The Silver boot award went to Nigerian striker, Kelechi Iheanacho, with jersey number 10. Nigeria was also awarded the “FIFA Fair Play Award”. Let’s congratulate the Golden Eaglets for a Centenary gift. Congratulations to Coach Manu Garba and the entire Nigerian contingent and yourself as well for being a Nigerian, the best country in the world!

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top