Connect with us


Manu Garba Releases Squad for U-20 World Cup

Nigeria U-20 football coach, Manu Garba has released the final list of players that will represent the country at the FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

Manchester City of England duo, Kelechi Iheanacho and Chidiebere Nwakali were named in the squad despite missing the African U-20 Championship in Senegal where the Flying Eagles won a record seventh continental title.

Garba retained a core of the players that featured in Senegal including Bernard Bulbwa, Wilfred Ndidi, Chidera Ezeh and Captain Musa Mohammed.

Europe-based trio, Moses Simon, Success Isaac and Musa Yahaya were also included in the final 21-man squad.

Despite her outstanding performance at continental level, Nigeria has never won the World Youth Championship since its inception in 1979.

She came very close in 1989 and 2005 but succumed to Portugal and Argentina respectively in the final to finish as runner-up.

Nigeria will face Brazil, North Korea and Hungary in Group E at the World Championship which kicks off on May 30 and will last till June 20.

Continue Reading
Arinze Ude

Arinze Ude is a PhD Student at the University of the West of England Bristol, UK, where he's exploring on the mechanisms of donor cell leukaemia. He shares his deep thoughts on his blog and the Naked Convos. He is keen to promote personal development of the Nigerian youth via thought-provoking articles.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top