Connect with us


AWCON 2016: Nigeria’s Super Falcons Are African Champions Again

Nigeria’s Super Falcons on Saturday emerged African champions with a hard-earned victory over Cameroon. The Falcons’ 1-0 defeat of the Lionesses ensured that they retained the AWCON title they won two years ago.

The match proved to be a particularly stern test for the Nigerian team. The Cameroonians created several chances; goalkeeper Jonathan Alaba was called to action on a number of occasions, as the Lionesses tried in vain to break the deadlock.

In the end, Desire Oparanozie’s second half strike was all the Falcons needed to secure a victory.

The Falcons’ triumph on Saturday was significant, partly because it came against the host nation, in a match played at the Estado Ahmadou Ahidjo, Yaoundé, Cameroon.

Nigeria has now won the AWCON trophy eight times, far more than any other team in African women’s football.

Continue Reading
Ikenna Nwachukwu

Ikenna Nwachukwu holds a bachelor's degree in Economics from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He loves to look at the world through multiple lenses- economic, political, religious and philosophical- and to write about what he observes in a witty, yet reflective style.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sodality Book Cover


To Top