Connect with us


Aiteo CAF Awards: Salah Win, Cuper Beats Rohr

It was definitely a night no one would forget in a hurry, as top African football personalities converged at the star studded State House Banquet Hall, Accra, Ghana on Thursday for the Aiteo CAF Awards.

Egypt and Liverpool forward Mohammed Salah has succeeded Algeria and Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez to become the 2017 Aiteo Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) Player of the Year. Salah, 25, was crowned the 2017 recipent of the award and became the first Egyptian since Mahmoud El Khatib in 1983 (when the award was organised by France Football magazine) to be crowned African best player.

Salah who is also the 2017 BBC African Player of the Year winner beat club teammate and Senegal forward Sadio Mane and Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to clinch the title.
Mane came just behind Salah in second place while Aubameyang was third.

In the women’s category for the same title, Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala emerged the winner. She has made a personal record of winning the CAF female player of the year award back to back and thrice in total; In 2014, 2016 and 2017.

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr who was nominated for the Coach of the year category alongside coach Hector Cuper and Hussein Amotta, lost to the Argentine Egypt coach Hector Cuper.
The Pharoahs of Egypt who qualified for the 2018 FIFA World Cup and were finalist at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations won the award for the National Team of the Year.

The South African Women’s football team emerged National Team of the Year.
2017 CAF Champions League winners Wydad Casablanca of Morocco won the Club of the Year aaward.

Zambia’s Patson Daka was presented with the Youth Player of the Year award.
Legends Award went to Ibrahim Sunday of Ghana who won the CAF Player of the Year in 1971.

Ahmed Ould Abderrahmane was the recipent of the Football Leader of the Year award.

Nana Akufo-Addo, Ghana’s President and newly elected President of Liberia George Weah were awarded with the Platinum Award.

Africa’s Finest XI award recipents are;
Ahmed Fathy (Egypt, Al Ahly)
Junior Ajayi (Nigeria, Al Ahly)
Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia, ES de Tunis)
Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia, Étoile Sport Sahel)
Ali Maaoloul (Egypt, Al Ahly)
Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco, Feyenoord)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
Achraf Bencharki (Morocco, Wydad Casablanca)
Khalid Boutaïb (Morocco, Yeni Malatyaspor)
Mohamed Ounajem (Morocco, Wydad Casablanca)
Eric Bertrand Bailly (Ivory Coast, Manchester United)

Continue Reading
Achem Samuel

Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top