Connect with us
Female Player Of the Year


Oshoala Wins Female Player Of the Year, Kanu, Okocha, Eguavoen In Legends XI

Asisat Oshoala was on Monday, crowned the Female Player Of the Year at the maiden edition of the 2018 Aiteo/Nigeria Football Federation awards.

The Aiteo/CAF best player of the year (female category) has been reaping of the fruits of her diligence and hard work, on and off the field.

In addition to the best player awards from the NFF and CAF, she was also the top scorer in the Chinese Women’s Super League for the year 2017.

Present at the awards ceremony, which took place inside the Grand Ballroom of the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, was the Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode; joined by FIFA President Gianni Infantino, FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura; CAF President Ahmad Ahmad, NFF President Amaju Pinnick and First Vice President, Seyi Akinwunmi.

Former Nigerian internationals like Segun Odegbami, Austin Okocha, Friday Ekpo, Christian Chukwu, Mutiu Adepoju, Daniel Amokachi, Garba Lawal, Emmanuel Okala, Felix Owolabi, Wilson Oruma, Femi Opabunmi, Ann Chiejine, Rita Nwadike did not fail to grace the hall with their presence as some even joined in presenting awards to recipients.

Also present for entertaining the audience were top Nigerian acts like Simi, Tiwa Savage, Kiss Daniel, Reekado Banks, Pato Ranking and Falz.

In the awards segment of the evening, Ikouwem Udoh won the Young Player of the Year in the Men’s category while Super Falcons forward, Rasheedat Ajibade won the same award in the female category.

Former Super Falcons goalkeeper and assistant coach, Ann Chiejine won the award for Coach of the Year in the women’s category while Plateau United coach, Kennedy Boboye came on top in the Men’s category.

Awards were given to selected Nigerian Legends, both male and female.

Kanu, Okocha, Eguavoen In Legends XI

Image Credit:

FIFA President, Gianni Infantino was presented with the Platinum award.

While Channel Sports won Sports Station of the year.

Winners at the 2018 Aiteo/NFF Awards

Player of the Year (Men):

Victor Moses

Player of the Year (Women):

Asisat Oshoala

Coach of the Year (Men):

Kennedy Boboye

Coach of the Year (Women):

Ann Chiejine

Young Player of the Year (Men):

Ikouwem Udoh

Young Player of the Year (Women):

Rasheedat Ajibade

Fairplay Award:

Remo Stars FC

Goal of the Season:

Sikiru Olatunbosun

Fans of the Season:

El-Kanemi Warriors

Platinum Award categories:

Gianni Infantino

Sports Station of the Year:

Channels Sport

Legends Eleven:

Ann Chiejine

Austin Eguavoen

Okechukwu Uche

Christian Chukwu

Segun Odegbami

Nwankwo Kanu

Felix Owolabi

Thompson Usiyen

Mercy Akide

Adokiye Amiesimaka

Austin Okocha

Feature Image by

Continue Reading
Achem Samuel

Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top