Connect with us
Asisat Oshoala


Ndidi, Moses, Oshaola, Balogun, Rohr win Nigeria Pitch Awards

Top guns of the Nigeria senior men’s team, Wilfred Ndidi, Victor Moses and others including Leon Balogun, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Super Eagles technical adviser, Gernot Rohr and Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshaola were all winners at the fifth edition of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, held on Monday night at the Le Meridien Ogeyi Place in Port Harcourt after the Super Eagles’ farewell friendly against DR Congo.

Victor Moses was given the award for the King of the Pitch category, while female counterpart Asisat Oshaola was given the Queen of the Pitch award.

Wilfred Ndidi was given the award for the Midfielder of the Year, Balogun was awarded the Defender of the Year, while Super Eagles goalkeeper, Ikechukwu Ezenwa was given the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Coach Gernot Rohr was awarded the Achievement in Football Award for his service with the Super Eagles so far.

In other categories, Anthony Okpotu of Lobi Stars won the Nigeria Professional Football League Most Valubale Player and Striker of the Year, while FC Robo player Rasheedat Ajibade won he same award in the Nigeria Women’s Football League (NWFL).

The President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Melvin Pinnick was also an award recipient at the event. Pinnick was awarded the Sam Okwaraji Award for his Commitment to Nigerian Football.

Reigning NPFL Champions’ coach Kennedy Boboye won the award for Coach of the Year. 

2017/2018 Nigeria Pitch Awards Winners

Queen of the Pitch – Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian)

King of the Pitch – Victor Moses (Chelsea FC)

Midfielder of the Year – Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year -Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Ifeanyi Ubah FC)

Defender of the Year – Leon Balogun    (FSV Mainz 05)

Striker of the Year – Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars FC)

MVP (male) in the NPFL – Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars FC)

MVP (female) in the NWFL – Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo)

Coach of the Year – Kennedy Boboye (Plateau United)

Club/Team of the Year – Plateau United FC

Referee of the Year – Ferdinand Idaho

State with the Best Grassroots Development Programme – Lagos State

Football Journalist of the Year (Print) – Tana Aiyejina (Punch Newspapers)

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio) – Olawale Adigun Top Radio FM

Football Journalist of the Year (TV) – Austin Okon-Akpan (Channels TV)

Special Recognition Awards

Special Achievement in Football Award – His Excellency Nyeson Ezenwo Wike, Governor of Rivers State

Achievement in Football Award – Gernot Rohr

Achievement in Football Award – Aisha Falode

Achievement in Football Award – Channels Kids Cup

Corporate Sponsor of Football Award – Aiteo Group

Football Friendly Governor of the Year – His Excellency Emmanuel Udom (Akwa Ibom State)

Sam Okwaraji Award for Commitment to Nigerian Football – Amaju Melvin Pinnick (President, NFF)

Continue Reading
Achem Samuel

Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top