Connect with us
bisola aiyeola


Bisola Wins Surprise Award At AMVCA 2018

The biggest award event on the continent that celebrates actors, filmmakers and other contributors in the film industry took place on Sunday evening, 2nd September, at the Eko Hotel, Lagos.


AMVCA 2018 was sponsored by Konga, Airtel and H2o. It featured a brand new category called the AMVCA Achiever’s Award and had a surprise award – The AMCVA Trailblazer Award which was won by actress and singer, Bisola Aiyeola.

The Trailblazer award was not listed in the nominations and was presented by Ireti Doyle. Bisola was visibly elated to receive the award, and could not hide her excitement as she screamed. Alongside the gold-plated AMVCA trophy, the actress went home with a brand new car, courtesy of Multichoice.

Jade Osiberu’s Isoken won the award for Best Movie West Africa; the director also received the Best Director Award. The movie 18 Hours was the Overall Best Movie of the year.

The ceremony was lit up with performances by rave rapper, Falz, ace producer Cobhams Asuquo, a traditional dance group and an Orchestra.

The 6th AMCVA awards had TV and film celebrities from across Africa in attendance, including countries like Kenya, South Africa, Malawi, Ghana, and Nigeria.


Bisola’s popularity in the entertainment industry began with her participation in the 2008 edition of MTN Project Fame, which introduced her to opportunities in the movie industry. She is also a ambassador and represented the organization at the United Nations General Assembly in New York

Below is a complete list of winners at the awards

Best Sound Editor

Tatu – Kolade Morakinyo and Pius Fatoke


Best Picture Editor

18 Hours – Mark Maina


Best Lighting Designer Movie/TV Series

Tatu – Akpe Ododoru, Tunde Akinniyi


Best Cinematography Movies/TV series

Okafor’s Law – Yinka Edward


Best Costume/Designer Movie or TV Series

The Bridge – Ngozi Obasi and James Bessinone


Best Short Film/Online Video

Penance – Micheal Ama Psalmist’ Akinrogunde


Best Documentary

The Flesh Business – Dennis Wanjohi


Best Make Up Artist Movie/TV Series

Tatu – Thelma Ozy Smith, Hakeem Effect Onilogbo


Best Art Director

Lotanna – Tunji Afolayan


Best Soundtrack Movies/TV Series

Tatu – Evelle


Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series – Swahili

Super Modo – Sarika Hemi Lhakani


Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series – Hausa

Mansoor – Ali Nuhu


Best Indigenous Language Movies or TV Series – Yoruba

Etiko Onigedu – Femi Adebayo



Best Indigenous Language Movies or TV Series – Igbo

Bound – Lilian Afegbai


Best TV/Drama/Comedy series

This Is It – Dolapo Adeleke


Best Movie East Africa

18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru


Best Movie West Africa

Isoken – Jade Osiberu


Best Movie Southern Africa

The Road to Sunrise – Shemu Joyah


Trail Blazer Award

Bisola Aiyeola


Industry Merit Award

Tunde Kelani


Best Writer Movie/TV Series

Alter Ego – Patrick Nnamani/Koye O/Moses Inwang


Best Supporting Actress

Lydia Forson – Isoken


Best Supporting Actor

Falz – New Money


Best Actress in a comedy and TV series

Nyce Wanueri – Auntie Boss


Best Actor in a comedy

Odunlade Adekola – A Million Baby —WINNER


Best Actress in a Drama/TV Series

Omotola Jalade Ekeinde – Alter Ego


Best Actor in a Drama Series

Adjetey Anang  – Keteke


Best Director

Jade Osiberu – Isoken


Best Overall Movie

18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru


View the full list of nominees here.

Continue Reading
Akwaowo Willie

Akwaowo Willie is a social media consultant for several businesses including SMEs and Startups. He is also an entrepreneur and writer with interests in entertainment, media, fashion, among others. He is married, with 2 adorable children.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top