Connect with us
2018 CAF Awards


Iwobi, Oshoala, Ndidi, Ordega Make 2018 CAF Final Shortlist

CAF African Player of the Year

Super Eagles top-gun, Alex Iwobi, is the only Nigerian to make it to the Confederation of African Football final 10-man shortlist, for the African Player of the Year award.

The decision was reached from votes by the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee.

Although Super Eagles fans would have loved to see Nigeria’s world cup star, Ahmed Musa’s name on the list, it is befitting that Iwobi made the cut consequent on his current form and recent heroics with English outfit, Arsenal.

Iwobi is joined by club teammate, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, current African Player of the Year, Mohammed Salah, Sadio Mane, and six others who would be vying for the highest honor in African football.

CAF Women’s Player of the Year

Nigeria, however, took over the 11-woman CAF final shortlist for the Women’s Player of the Year, as current Women’s titleholder, Asisat Oshoala headlines the list alongside Super Falcons teammates, Francisca Ordega and Onome Ebi.

Super Eagles and Leicester City ace midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi, made the 3-man cut for the Youth Player of the Year award, while Super Falcons’ coach Thomas Dennerby is also listed for the Women’s Coach of the Year award.

At the Awards in 2017, Egypt’s Mohammed Salah beat Liverpool-teammate, Sadio Mane, and Gabon Forward, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to win the Men’s Category of the awards, while Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala won the Women’s category.

Nine time African Champions, Super Falcons, are in line for the Women’s National Team of the Year  award, alongside South Africa and Cameroon.

The winners will be decided by CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, and Coaches & Captains of the 54 Member Associations.

The Awards Gala to recognize the footballers and officials who have distinguished themselves in the year, will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

See the full list:

African Player of the Year

  • Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  • Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  • Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
  • Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
  • Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)


Women’s Player of the Year

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
  • Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
  • Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
  • Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
  • Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
  • Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
  • Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  • Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
  • Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
  • Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  • Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)


Youth Player of the Year

  • Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)
  • Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)


Men’s Coach of the Year

  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  • Herve Renard (Morocco)
  • Moine Chaabani (Esperance)


Women’s Coach of the Year

  • Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)


Men’s National Team of the Year

  • Madagscar
  • Mauritania
  • Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year


Source: CAF

Featured Image Source: Complete Sports Nigeria

Continue Reading
Achem Samuel

Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top