Connect with us


Tim Godfrey, Eben Lead On The Africa Gospel Awards Nominations Table

Nigerian gospel artistes Tim Godfrey and Eben are leading with the most nominations on the Africa Gospel Awards Nominations 2019 nominations list. Tim Godfrey was nominated in eight categories including African Gospel Producer of the Year and African Gospel Artiste of the Year, while Eben got seven nominations, including Song of the Year.

The two have gone on to celebrate their nominations on social media. Tim wrote:

“I am so incredibly honored to be considered for nominations in 8 CATEGORIES by AFRICA GOSPEL AWARDS FESTIVAL in 🇬🇭 GHANA. This is so encouraging and humbling for me. Having worked so hard, one of my goals has been to impact Africa and the World at large for JESUS through my Music. It means a lot to me to have God’s Work recognized! This was unexpected and very touching to be nominated for this award Thank you for thinking of me! THANK YOU GHANA! THANK YOU AFRICA! Please visit to cast your votes!”

Eben. Believers Portal

Eben also posted a list of all his nominations on his Instagram with the following caption:


People of God we have been nominated in all seven categories at the AGA awards ..pls go to to vote, vote and vote again..

To God be all the glory…💃🏻💃🏻💥💥🔥🔥🌟🌟⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️”

Other Nigerian gospel artistes nominated for awards at the Africa Gospel Awards Festival 2019 are; Frank Edwards, Sinach, Nathaniel Bassey, Mercy Chinwo, Mike Abdul, Chioma Jesus, Sammie Okposo, Lizy Perez, Righteous Man, Mista Push, and Prosper Ochimana.

The nominations list is replete with some of the country’s finest music ministers and artists. However, of notable mention is the African Artiste of The Year category, which is dominated by Nigerians. Of the ten nominees in the category, seven are Nigerians. The only award category without a Nigerian nominee is the Africa Gospel Rap Hip Hop Artist of the Year

In contention for Song Of The Year are:

  • Eben’s ‘Victory’,
  • ‘Excess Love’ by Mercy Chinwo,
  • ‘Nara’ by Tim Godfrey and Travis Greene,
  • Ekwememe by Prosper Ochimana featuring Osinachi N.
  • Other songs in the category include: ‘Ulwandle’ by Dumi Mkokstad (South Africa),
  • ‘Bo Noo Ni’ by Joe Mettle ft. Luigi Maclean (Ghana),
  • ‘Nasempini’ by South Africa’s Spirit Of Praise ft. Ayanda Ntanzi,
  • Reuben Kagame’s ‘Huniachi’ featuring Gloria Muliro (Kenya)
  • ‘Hosanna’ by Koda (Ghana)
  • ‘Obi Nyani Me’ by Patience Nyarko (Ghana)

The awards will also feature non-competitive categories, including Lifetime Achievement Award to be given to multi-award-winning South African gospel songstress, Dr. Rebecca Malope, often referred to as ‘the African Queen of Gospel’. Others are Africa Gospel Ministry of the Year, Africa Gospel Organization of the Year, Africa Gospel Charity Worker/Philanthropist of the Year and the Africa Gospel Outreach/Evangelism Ministry of the Year.

Daily Advent Nigeria


The Africa Gospel Awards Festival (AGAFEST) annually recognizes and celebrates outstanding gospel acts, ministries, mission projects, outreaches, charity and other gospel-centric works across the African continent.

The festival is aimed at discovering, encouraging, and inspiring gospel music talents and christian activities, mission and evangelism outfits to acheive excellence in their endeavours while serving God’s Kingdom even better.

The awards night is the grand finale of a series of yearlong activities which include concerts, seminars, conferences, and more.

According to the events website;

‘It is imperative that we celebrate and acknowledge the excellence of gospel talents, works and acts. AFRICA GOSPEL AWARDS FESTIVAL (AGAFEST) is therefore to create the platform for gospel players to be rewarded and awarded for their labour of love for God.’

The 2019 edition of the Africa Gospel Awards Festival will hold in March, at the Fantasy Dome, Trade Fair, Accra, Ghana. Voting is currently ongoing at

Full List of nominees below.

Africa Gospel Artist of the Year:

 Eben (Nigeria)

Joe Mettle (Ghana)

Tumi (South Africa)

Sinach (Nigeria)

 Diana Hamilton (Ghana)

Benjamin Dube (South Africa)

 Sonnie Badu (Ghana)

Africa Gospel Song of the Year

                 Nara Ekele Mo – Tim Godfrey ft. Travis Greene (Nigeria)

                Ekwueme – Prospa Ochimana ft. Osinachi N (Nigeria)

                Excess Love – Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)

Nasempini – Spirit Of Praise ft. Ayanda Ntanzi (South Africa

                 Huniachi – Reuben Kigame ft. Gloria Muliro (Kenya)

                 Hosanna – Koda (Ghana)

                Victory – Eben (Nigeria)

Obi Nyani Me – Patience Nyarko (Ghana)

                Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle ft. Luigi Maclean (Ghana)

                Ulwandle – Dumi Mkokstad (South Africa)

Africa Gospel Worship Artist of the Year

                Nathaniel Bassey (Nigeria)

                Sinach (Nigeria)

                Tim Godfrey (Nigeria)

Joe Mettle (Ghana)

                Sonnie Badu (Ghana)

                 Dr Tumi (South Africa)

                Pastor Isaiah Ofosu Kwakye (Ghana)

Africa Gospel New Artist of the Year

Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)

Prospa Ochimana (Nigeria)

Lily Perez (Nigeria)

Lebohang Kgapola (South Africa)

Kobby Salm (Ghana)

The Kings’ Crew (Ghana)

Jabidii (Kenya)

Africa Gospel Praise Artist of the Year

                Sammie Okposo (Nigeria)

                Mike Abdul (Nigeria)

                 Nathaniel Bassey (Nigeria)

                Frank Edwards (Nigeria)

Tim Godfrey (Nigeria)

Eben (Nigeria)

Chioma Jesus (Nigeria)

                Koda (Ghana)

Patience Nyarko (Ghana)

                Spirit of Praise (South Africa)

Africa Gospel Reggae/Dancehall Artist of the Year

                 Righteous man (Nigeria)

                Mista Push (Nigeria)

                 Jabidii (Kenya)

                Guardian Angel (Kenya)

Africa Gospel Rap Hip Hop Artist of the Year

                Preachers (Ghana)

                Shane Li Boy (South Africa)

                 Solomon Spencer (South Africa)

                 Kingzkid (Ghana)

                 Kobby Salm (Ghana)

                The Kings’ Crew (Ghana)

                Dube Brothers (South Africa)

                Akesse Brempong (Ghana)

                Nat Abbey (Ghana)

                Moji Shortbaba (Kenya)

Africa Gospel Artist Manager of the Year

                Eezee Tee – Mercy Chinwo and Frank Edwards (Nigeria)

                Pshegs – Sinach (Nigeria)

Kwesi Kumi Koomson – Joe Mettle (Ghana)

                King David – Diana Hamilton (Ghana)

                Kumi Wilson – Patience Nyarko (Ghana)

Kgaogelo Makweya – Dr Tumi (South Africa)

                 Lucky Sekgobela – Lebo Sekgobela (South Africa)

Africa Gospel Female Artist of the Year

                Sinach (Nigeria)

Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)

                Gloria Muliro (Kenya)

                Diana Hamilton (Ghana)

                Patience Nyarko (Ghana)

                Ntokozo Mbambo (South Africa)

Music in Africa


Featured image source: Daily Advent Nigeria

Continue Reading
Akwaowo Willie

Akwaowo Willie is a social media consultant for several businesses including SMEs and Startups. He is also an entrepreneur and writer with interests in entertainment, media, fashion, among others. He is married, with 2 adorable children.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top