Connect with us


AITEO/NFF Awards : Ahmed Musa, Onome Ebi Emerge Best Players In Nigeria

As always, the Nigeria Football Federation, sponsored by energy giant, AITEO, put up a riveting show at the star studded NFF/AITEO Awards, held on 1st April 2019 at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Elite players, coaches, stakeholders, and other prominent guests witnessed what many would arguably call, the most emotional awards ceremony ever hosted by the NFF.


The major highlight of the evening was the recognition of the S 1994 Super Eagles Squad, who brought glory to Nigeria’s football in their day.

Amongst those present to receive the award were, Augustine Eguavoen, Sunday Oliseh, Jay Jay Okocha, Daniel Amokachi, Samson Siasia and Edema Fuludu.

Others include, Mutiu Adepoju, Peter Rufai, Alloy Agu, Nduka Ugbade, Ben Iroha, Uche Okechukwu, Finidi George, Taribo West and Victor Ikpeba.

In that moment, just as the daughter of late Super Eagles forward, Rashidi Yekini, walked up the stage to receive her father’s award, the hall was overcome with emotion as many reminisced about the legendary Yekini.


In the Best Player of the Year award category, Ahmed Musa emerged the winner, ahead of Odion Ighalo and Alex Iwobi.

Super Falcons defender, Onome Ebi, beat three-time African Best Player of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, and Francesca Ordega to claim the Best Player of the Year award in the female category.

Musa’s first goal against Iceland at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, was awarded the Best Goal of the Season.

Enugu Rangers gaffer, Gbenga Ogunbote, was voted male team Coach of the Year, while Super Falcons boss, Thomas Dennerby, won the award in the female team category.

Full List of Winners

Player of the Year (men): Ahmed Musa

Player of the Year (women): Onome Ebi

Coach of the Year (men) Gbenga Ogunbote

Coach of the Year (women) Thomas Dennerby

Young Player of the Year (men): Samuel Chukuweze

Young Player of the Year (women) Anam Imo

Team of the Season: Super Falcons

Fairplay Award, Akwa United

Goal of the Season Ahmed Musa

Fans of the Season Kano Pillars

NFF Development Award: Channels Television

NFF Order of Merit Award: MKO Abiola

Lifetime Achievement Award: Governor Akinwunmi Ambode

Featured image source: Naija News

Continue Reading
Achem Samuel

Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top