Connect with us


MTN Nigeria Has Just Appointed a New Board of Directors

MTN Nigeria has appointed a new board of directors. This follows the retirement of all members of the previous board, in a move announced this week. The change is expected to take effect from September 2.

Dr. Pascal Dozie – Online Nigeria

Dr. Pascal Dozie, who has been at the head of the board for 17 years, will be replaced by Dr. Ernest Ndukwe, a former Executive Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission. Dr. Dozie is also known for founding Diamond Bank, which completed a merger with Access Bank earlier this year.

Members of the new board include Muhammad Ahmad, a former Nigerian pension administrator, who will be serving as an Independent Non-Executive Director; Omobola Johnson, an erstwhile minister of communication technology; and Chief Andrew Alli, a past Chief Executive Officer of the Africa Finance Corporation, who will also be on the board as a Non-Executive member.

Some of the other non-executive directors on the new board are Michael Onochie Ajukwu, an Independent Director at Sterling bank since 2018; A. B. Mahmood, SAN, the immediate past president of the Nigeria Bar Association; Ifueko Ifueko Okauru, MFR, an ex-Executive Chairman of the FIRS;  and Karl Toriola, MTN’s Group VP for Central and West Africa.

The list is completed by Rhidwaan Gasant, Independent Non-Executive Director; Rob Shuter, Non-Executive director; Ralph Muipta, Non-Executive Director; Paul Norman, Non-Executive Director; and Jens Schulte-Bockum, Non-Executive Director.

Pascal Dozie, MTN Nigeria’s outgoing board chairman, said that the growth in the Nigerian telecoms industry in his time at the company was “a unique story” they were very proud of.

“I cannot think of a better time to be handing over to another chairman, and to a new group of distinguished Nigerian directors,” Mr. Dozie said.      

MTN Nigeria CEO Ferdinand Moolman welcomed the new Directors to the company and spoke of his hope for new opportunities springing up in the sector. He expressed the belief that the incoming board members would bring their wealth of experience to bear on the company.

Persons on the old board included Col. Sani Bello (Rtd), Vice Chairman; Chief Victor Odili, OON, Non-Executive Director; Babatunde Folawiyo, Non-Executive Director; and Gbenga Oyebode, MFR, Non-Executive Director.

Featured image source: Elombah

Continue Reading
Ikenna Nwachukwu

Ikenna Nwachukwu holds a bachelor's degree in Economics from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He loves to look at the world through multiple lenses- economic, political, religious and philosophical- and to write about what he observes in a witty, yet reflective style.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top