Connect with us


Nigeria And Namibia Set To Replace Suspended Zimbabwe At The ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Nigerian and Namibian cricket teams are set to replace the recently banned Zimbabwe Cricket Federation and compete in the in ICC Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cup qualifiers.

The Namibian women team join the tournament’s hosts, Scotland, USA, Bangladesh, Ireland, Thailand, Netherlands, and Papua New Guinea to vie for the two remaining spots at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup scheduled to hold next year.

The Namibian team lost the final of the Women’s African Qualifier to the Zimbabwean team but will step into the fray owing to their finishing spot at the African regional pathway.

For the men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, Nigeria will step into the place of the recently suspended Zimbabwean team, taking the final and 14th spot when the competition commences later this year in the UAE, starting October 11, and ending on November 3, 2019.

Nigeria is set to join the host nation, UAE, along with Ireland, Hong Kong, Jersey, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Oman, Namibia, Kenya, Singapore, Scotland, and two other nations that will emerge from the Americas Finals which will be held later in August 2019, to compete at the T20 qualifiers. The Nigerian Cricket team, which emerged third in the Africa Men’s Final, is the third African nation in the global qualifier alongside the Kenyan and Namibian teams.

It would be recalled that the International Cricket Council suspended Zimbabwe owing to government interference in its activities.


Featured Image Source;

Continue Reading
Ugo Chinedu

I am a Lion, I love to hit heights that seem impossible so I can motivate others and prove doubters wrong. For me, impossible is nothing. I'm open to learning and I love to read, travel and meet new faces.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top