Connect with us


Gernot Rohr Releases 23-Man Squad for 2021 AFCON Qualifiers

Head coach of the Nigerian national team, Gernot Rohr, has released a 23-man squad to prosecute Nigeria’s 2021 African Cup of Nations qualifying matches against the Squirrels of Benin and Lesotho.

The list, which was released on Wednesday, October 30, 2019, saw team captain, Ahmed Musa, recalled to the squad after a lengthy lay off due to an injury. Super Eagles first choice goalkeeper at the 2019 AFCON in Egypt has also been recalled to the squad for the first time since the conclusion of the African football competition.

Read more about the Super Eagles

Musa had been missing in action due to an injury sustained while playing for his Saudi Arabian club, Al Nassr. Akpeyi lost his place in the squad but a series of fine performances for his South African club, Kaizer Chiefs, and Francis Uzoho’s injury has seen Akpeyi back in the fold.

Samuel Kalu is back in the team after missing the friendly against Brazil in October due to an injury. Other returnees include Mikel Agu and Kenneth Omeruo. Oghenekaro Etebo is on the standby list due to an injury and is being closely watched.

The Super Eagles will welcome the Squirrels of Benin at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo, on November 13, 2019, before flying to Maseru to confront the Crocodiles of Lesotho on November 17, 2019.

Full Squad


Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC)

Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)


Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain)

Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain)

William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy)

Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy)

Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

Sign up to the Connect Nigeria daily newsletter


Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England)

Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal)

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)

Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)


Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia)

Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France)

Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)

Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)

Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium)

Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)

Standby List

Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England)

Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic)

Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)



Featured Image Source:Goal

Did You find this article useful? Contact us:

Continue Reading
Ugo Chinedu

I am a Lion, I love to hit heights that seem impossible so I can motivate others and prove doubters wrong. For me, impossible is nothing. I'm open to learning and I love to read, travel and meet new faces.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top