Connect with us
Abia Pulse News

Nigeria in Detail

Members Of The Abia State House Of Assembly

The Abia State House of Assembly which is the state’s legislative arm of government is a unicameral body comprising of 24 members usually elected from 24 state constituencies and presided over by a speaker. At the Nigerian National Assembly level, Abia State’s delegation of three Senators represents Abia-Central, Abia-South, and Abia-North, and eight members of the House of Representatives representing Aba North/South, Arochukwu/Ohafia, Ikwuano/Umuahia North/South, Isuikwato/Umunneochi, Bende, Isiala Ngwa North/South, Obingwa/Osisioma/Ugbunagbo, and Ukwa East/Ukwa West.

Read more about Nigeria in Detail

On Monday, June 10, 2019, the 7th Abia State House of Assembly was inaugurated after a Proclamation by the Executive Governor of Abia State, Dr. Okezie Victor Ikpeazu. Formed after the successful conduct of the March 9, 2019, Gubernatorial and House of Assembly elections, the Representatives of the State Assembly were elected from 24 constituencies with the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) having the majority number of members of the House.

Rt. Honourable Chinedum Eyinnaya Orji, a representative of the Umuahia Central State Constituency is the elected Speaker of the State’s Assembly, while Rt. Honourable Ifeanyi Uchendu is the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly. The leadership of the legislative house also consist of the Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Minority leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Majority Whip, Minority Whip, Deputy Majority Whip, and Deputy Minority Whip. Also, there is the Staff of the House which is led by the Clerk of the House.

Sign up to the Connect Nigeria daily newsletter

Full List Of Members Of The Abia State House Of Assembly (2019 – 2023) Inaugurated In June, 2019

1Rt. Hon. Chinedum OrjiHon. SpeakerUmuahia CentralPDP
2Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi UchenduDeputy SpeakerOhafia SouthPDP
3Hon. Solomon AkpulonuMaj. LeaderObingwa EastPDP
4Hon. Paul TariboDeputy Majority LeaderUkwa EastPDP
5Hon. Abraham ObaMinority LeaderAba CentralAPGA
6Hon. Chukwu ChijiokeDeputy Minority LeaderBende NorthAPC
7Hon. Munachim AlozieMajority WhipUgwunagboPDP
8Hon. Onyekwere M.UkohaMinority WhipArochukwuAPGA
9Hon. Kelechi OnuzuruikeDeputy Majority WhipUmuahia NorthPDP
10Hon. Emeka OkoroaforDeputy Minority WhipIsikwuatoAPC
11Rt.Hon. Kennedy Njoku BishopMemberOsisoma NorthPDP
12Hon.Nnamdi AllenMemberOsisoma SouthPDP
13Hon. Jeremiah O. UzosikeMemberUmuahia SouthPDP
14Hon. Chukwudi ApugoMemberUmuahia EastPDP
15Hon. Stanley NwabuisiMemberIkwuanoPDP
16Â Rt. Hon. Chikwendu KaluMemberIsiala Ngwa SouthPDP
17Hon. Onwusibe GingerMemberIsiala Ngwa NorthPDP
18Hon. Thomas NkoroMemberObingwa WestPDP
19Hon. Egwuronu ObasiMemberOhafia NorthPDP
20Hon. Emmanuel C. NdubuisiMemberBende SouthPDP
21Hon. Godwin AdieleMemberUkwa WestPDP
22Hon. Uzodike AaronMemberAba NorthPDP
23Hon. Okey IgweMemberUmunneochiPDP
24Hon. Obinna Ichita MartinMemberAba SouthAPGA

Principal Officers

1Mr. John Pedro Nnamdi IrokansiClerk to the House
2Mr. Chris OnwuegbuD-Dop/Ifo-II


Abia State Gov NG


Featured Image Source: Abia Pulse News

Did you find this article useful? Contact us:

Continue Reading
Ugo Chinedu

I am a Lion, I love to hit heights that seem impossible so I can motivate others and prove doubters wrong. For me, impossible is nothing. I'm open to learning and I love to read, travel and meet new faces.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Did You Know?


Discover Nigeria



To Top